Cork and Tipp unchanged for U20 final

Cork and Tipp unchanged for U20 final
Cork and Tipp unchanged for U20 final

Cork and Tipperary have named unchanged teams for tomorrow’s All-Ireland U20 hurling final. Cork manager Denis Ring has kept faith with the same 15 which scored a 1-16 to 0-13 win over Kilkenny last time out.

Brian Roche, who missed the Munster final but came back in at centre-forward for the All-Ireland semi-final, keeps his place in attack, as does corner-forward Padraig Power, the Blarney youngster having not started any of Cork’s three Munster championship outings.

Ten of the Cork team named for tomorrow’s decider began the 2017 All-Ireland minor final defeat to Galway. Jake Morris, sprung from the bench late in last Sunday’s senior final and who clipped a point upon his introduction, is selected at centre-forward for the Tipp U20s.

Fellow senior panellist Jerome Cahill was at centre-forward in their All-Ireland semi-final win over Wexford but is listed at midfield here.


G Collins (Ballinhassig); C O’Callaghan (Dromtarrife), J Keating (Kildorrery), E Roche (Bride Rovers); G Millerick (Fr O’Neill’s), S O’Leary Hayes (Midleton), R Downey (Glen Rovers); R Walsh (Kanturk ), T O’Connell (Midleton); S Twomey (Courcey Rovers), B Roche (Bride Rovers), D Connery (Na Piarsaigh); B Turnbull (Douglas), S O’Regan (Watergrasshill), P Power (Blarney).

Subs: I Butler (Kildorrery), R Sheehan (Mallow), J Copps (Ballyhea), C Hanifin (Na Piarsaigh), D Hanlon (Blarney), B Murphy (Castlelyons), S Kennefick (Glen Rovers), E Sheehan (Na Piarsaigh), L O’Shea (Lisgoold).


A Browne (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams); C McCarthy (Nenagh Éire Óg), E Connolly (Cashel King Cormacs), C Morgan (Kilruane MacDonaghs); N Heffernan (Golden-Kilfeacle), P Cadell (JK Brackens), B O’Mara (Holycross-Ballycahill); C Connolly (Loughmore-Castleiney), J Cahill (Kilruane MacDonaghs); G O’Connor (Moyne-Templetuohy), J Morris (Nenagh Éire Óg), J Ryan (Arravale Rovers); A Ormond (JK Brackens), B Seymour (Kiladanagn), C Bowe (Moyne-Templetuohy).

Subs: E Collins (Drom-Inch), M Purcell (Thurles Sarsfields), R Quirke (Toomevara), K Breen (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams), D Woods (Holycross-Ballycahill), K O’Kelly (Kilruane MacDonaghs), J Fogarty (Moneygall), S Hayes (Kiladangan), C Bourke (Clonoulty-Rossmore).

Source: Sports